Great News!

Hi! I’m home from the hospital already! I had the surgery this morning and was able to demonstrate to the dr. and nurses that I was able to eat and drink (well, come on, now, it’s ME. I can ALWAYS eat and drink.)

The “procedure” as most Jews refer to surgery, went very well. The BENIGN tumor had enlarged one of my parathyroid glands to 4 times its normal size and was easily removed. I have a gauze bandage at the base of my neck so it looks like I got stabbed, but hey, you should see the other guy!

I am having trouble talking because my throat is all scratched up from the breathing tube, and when I move my head certain ways I am reminded very quickly that I have had surgery on my neck! I haven’t seen the scar yet, so I don’t know how big it is, but a well-placed choker or kicky scarf can do wonders.

I have to hang out for TWO weeks, instead of one, which is a bummer in some ways, but it gets me out of laundry, cooking, cleaning, etc. I can’t do “strenuous” activity for that amount of time, and we all know how strenuous housework can be. When I feel stronger I can go for walks, sans dogs that pull me down the street, and sometimes just pull me ONTO the street, as demonstrated by last year’s broken arm extravaganza.

So, when I’m feeling better and able to talk and drive, I can do coffee, have visitors, see a movie, etc. For the next couple of days I need to sleep off the anesthetic and take pain meds, which I think works out to be a wash, but I’m a wuss when it comes to pain and am a big fan of the saying, “better living through chemistry.”

Thank you for all of your good wishes and words of encouragement. I am so grateful for my friends and family.

I hope to see you soon!
Love,
Leslie

2 thoughts on “Great News!

  1. Hi Leslie – Just wanted to say that I’m glad surgery went okey dokey!Your blog is so funny – and I totally appreciate your getting your hair done before surgery – priorities!!! Again – I’m glad your feeling well and take care of yourself!!

  2. Great news, YES! Glad u r feeling better! All your friends r talking about you and hoping u r feeling better, stronger. Be by next week,Nance

I love comments!

