I am Not a Good Egg

I mean I am not a good egg-keeper. I guess my animal husbandry skills are not that great. The 3 eggs Bengal laid are all shriveling up. I put them in a make-shift incubator, kept them warm and in moist vermiculite, but they are just wasting away.

I’m getting a complex. Is it me? Or, are her eggs just not viable? If she lays more should I try to keep them comfy and hope one or two survive, or should I just give up. I guess if she lays some nice, white eggs, I should at least give them a fighting chance. But maybe I should leave them in the terrarium with Bengal and Squirt and let nature takes its course. I think my home-made incubator is for the birds. No, wait. Their eggs probably wouldn’t hatch either!

Plus, Bengal and Squirt seemed to like sitting on the eggs last time and they seem a little long in the face (pun intended!) so maybe they want to keep the eggs with them in their terrarium. I guess that’s the best thing to do. At least that way I won’t feel so guilty about the eggs if they shrivel up. But, if I’m feeling guilty about the eggs shriveling up, maybe there’s more wrong with me than I think. Maybe I need a therapist. I mean, who in their right mind takes it personally when her lizard eggs don’t survive?

I think I’ll just have to give up on the idea of the incubator and let the eggs stay with Bengal and Squirt. I guess the moral of the story is to just let the eggs lay where they fall.

One thought on “I am Not a Good Egg

  1. Oh that’s too bad! I can’t imagine its easy to incubate these eggs, there are probably a lot of conditions needed to make it work, so don’t beat yourself up about it. I give you tons of credit for trying!!!

I love comments!

