Holy Omelet, Batman!

April 7, 2009

I can’t believe it! Just when I finally decided that I was not going to try to incubate any more eggs, Bengal laid the most perfect, white egg today. So, I thought about what to do. Should I leave it in the terrarium with Bengal and Squirt or should I try the incubator again?

My son Lucas and I decided we had to give the incubator another try with an egg as perfect as this one. It’s been about 4 hours and it still looks good, so I will keep my fingers crossed. I hope it still looks good tomorrow. If it stays white and doesn’t start to shrivel up I will be very happy. But, I don’t have very high expectations.

AND THEN…

April 9, 2009

So, last night as I was rearranging the terrarium and searching for cowardly worms hiding under the fake plants, I came upon another egg. It was not quite as perfect as the last one I had found, but I think it might have been in the terrarium for at least a day because it was already a little brown. I began digging around and I found a few more eggs. Then I found a few more.

When I finally finished fishing out all of the eggs I found, I counted about 26! Only a few of them looked perfect, but I think if I had been on top of Bengal (I don’t mean literally on top of her!) I would have been able to immediately put any eggs she laid directly into the “incubator”.

I think she probably doesn’t have much left inside after delivering such a big clutch, but I will keep my eyes on the terrarium big time in hopes of finding any new eggs as soon as possible.

I think it’s really interesting that we began celebrating Passover last night and the egg we put on the Seder plate symbolizes life. And this Sunday when Easter is celebrated there will be Easter egg hunts everywhere you turn.

Oh, wait! Bengal looks like she’s going to lay another egg! I’d better go get ready to gently pick it up with latex gloves on, of course, not so much because I don’t want to touch the egg, but more because I don’t want to contaminate it by touching it with my bare hands. I think it’s coming. She’s assuming the position!

And, what we have here, ladies and gentlemen is a huge, stinky smelly poop. Ah, the miracle of life.

Happy Passover and Happy Easter!

3 thoughts on “Holy Omelet, Batman!

  1. I don’t belief I’ve ever hunted Lizard eggs before. I have gathered chicken eggs, robins eggs and one time I even gathered up Osterich eggs but not lizard eggs. Let me tell you I hope they are easier to gather than Osterich eggs because those big ugly birds are mean!

I love comments!

